Welcome to the Cambridge Writers website. Here you will find a little about us and what we do, also profiles of some of our members and some samples of our work.

The login at the corner of this page is to enable contributers to edit their entries from time to time (please apply for password to the webmaster)

Next General Meeting

Thursday, 25. Feb 2021 - Short Story Competition Judging Event


*** Note that the date for this meeting has changed ***

Our competition Rosemary Hayes is an author and creative writing tutor. She came to writing from a background in advertising, marketing and publishing. Working intermittently for Cambridge University Press from 1986-2001, one of her jobs was to run a national children’s writing competition, The Cambridge Young Writers’ Award, which attracted thousands of entries. In 1989 she launched her own publishing company, Anglia Young Books, producing curriculum-related historical fiction for primary schools.

Literary News

Love & Pollination


Cambridge Writers member Mari Jane Law has just published her first novel Love & Pollination. It is shortlisted for Choc Lit's 2019 Search for a Star competition and will make you laugh, providing a welcome respite in these dreary times.

Find out more about author and book here.

Blog Posts

My Theory of Creativity

21. Mar 2020
Dr. Emily Bilman

My essay on my theory of creativity linked to sublimation and the therapeutic potential of poetry is published online in "WILD COURT", King's College magazine in the University of London. You can read my essay here.

Breadcrumb no. 565

21. Mar 2020
Dr. Emily Bilman

My hybrid flash piece called "Weightlessness" has appeared as "breadcrumb no. 565" in the Flash Magazine of the same name in the USA. Enjoy!